Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Virtual Book Blast Tour: Spring’s Surprise by Cynthia Gail ($25 Amazon GC & $15 Starbucks GC)

Today, I’m excited to share with you another novel. Spring’s Surprise by Cynthia Gail is a Contemporary Romance available now from Soul Mate Publishing. Isn't the cover refreshing? Find out if the story interests you, and don’t forget to leave a comment for a chance to win one of the giveaways. Cynthia will award one $25 Amazon GC to a randomly drawn commenter and a $15 Starbucks GC to another randomly drawn commenter. The more you comment during the tour, the higher your chances of winning. Good luck.


Sara Michaels is single again. And she’s celebrating her thirtieth birthday with a complete spa makeover and a day of boutique shopping with her two best friends. After a ten-month battle for freedom, a long weekend in Nashville, Tennessee is just what she needs to erase the memories of a broken heart.

Jack Tanner is the soon-to-be new partner at Chester & Dorsey Development Firm. Jack’s love life has been on the back burner for years as he’s built a successful career. But the moment he meets Sara, he takes a hard look at his life and his priorities.

Sara steps out of her comfort zone and spends an unforgettable weekend with Jack. She’s never felt so carefree. Until she realizes too late that three days can change everything.

“Nothing?” Jenny couldn’t stop laughing. “A kiss the first night they meet. Breakfast planned for the next morning.” She turned to Beth. “At this rate, don’t be surprised if Sara doesn’t come home tomorrow night. Nick’s been staying at your house a lot, anyway, hasn’t he, Beth?”

“Don’t get too excited.” Embarrassment flooded through Sara as she remembered thinking the very same thing. She shouldn’t have, but she couldn’t stop her imagination from running wild. Jack made her tingle in places that hadn’t been alive in years. She hadn’t even realized how dormant she’d been until that first handshake. Her whole body had come alive like a sparkler on the Fourth of July.

“We’re only having breakfast. And we both leave on Tuesday. What can happen in just three days between two people who don’t even live in the same city? We’ll probably never see each other again after this weekend.”

“What can happen in three days? A lot!” Jenny said with a friendly jab. “Look what happened in one evening. And you just said you were going to be open-minded and take the weekend for what it is. If I were you, I’d enjoy every bit of Jack I could.”

Her friends continued talking about Nick, dinner, and the rest of their weekend plans. Sara tried to keep up, but her mind kept drifting back to Jack and that kiss. Enjoy every bit of Jack she could. That could be a lot of enjoyment if she was reading his signs correctly. She was definitely tempted.

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

My husband and I live in the suburbs of Nashville, Tennessee with our eighteen-year-old son and three dogs. When I’m not working or writing, I can be found with family and friends. I love to bake in the winter, grill in the summer, and on occasion, I sneak away from everyone and curl up with a good book.

I hope you enjoy my stories. Each one touches on modern day issues, fears, and challenges that women face every day. And each one illustrates that love is within reach if you let down those walls and allow your heart to open. Our lives and experiences are so much more meaningful when we have someone to share them with.

Monday, June 17, 2013

Super Book Blast: Fatal Exposure ($25 Amazon/BN GC)

Today, I’d like to introduce you to a new book: Fatal Exposure by Gail Barrett. This is a contemporary romantic suspense novel. Go on and find out if it’s for you. And don’t forget to leave a comment for a chance to win the giveaway. The author is giving away. Gail will be awarding a $25 Amazon / BN (or other bookstore of the winner's choice) GC to one randomly drawn commenter during this tour and her other Book Blast on June 21st. As usual, the more you follow the tour and comment, the higher your chances of winning. You’ll find the tour dates HERE.


Cold-case detective Parker McCall has spent fifteen years trying to solve his brother’s murder.  Now a chance photo of the killer in the newspaper sets him hard on the woman’s trail.  A former teenaged runaway, reclusive, award-winning photojournalist B.K. Elliot chronicles the harsh reality of life on the streets -- until a photo in the paper reveals her identity, blowing the lid off her secret past.  With a powerful murderer now dogging her heels, and her police officer step-father determined to silence her permanently, the last person she can afford to trust is a cop.  So why does sexy police detective Parker McCall tempt her to break her silence and resurrect ideals she’d lost years ago?  As danger closes in, and with more than her own life at stake, Brynn must decide if the duty-bound cop will betray her...or heal her battered heart.


His gaze swung back to hers. Several seconds ticked by. His scrutiny made her uneasy, the intensity in his eyes making it impossible to breathe.

And, suddenly, Brynn suspected he knew more than he’d let on—about her relationship to her stepfather, about her troubled childhood, about the horrific abuse that drove her from home. That he was simply biding his time—like the trained interrogator he was—waiting for her to confess the truth.

She couldn’t believe how tempted she was to do just that—to forget that he was a cop, to ignore the danger hounding her footsteps and tell him the unvarnished truth.

But then, Parker’s expression changed. His eyes were just as intense, but hotter, more hypnotic, like whirlpools dragging her under—in a decidedly sensual way.

Her pulse battered her throat. He pushed away from the truck and moved even closer, trapping her against the cab. And that insane attraction rippled between them, that unruly maelstrom of need.

Her breath backed up in her lungs. Her belly tightened, acute tremors of excitement tripping along her nerves. She tore her gaze from his jet black eyes to the black stubble shadowing his granite jaw, and stalled on his gripping mouth. Then he reached out and stroked his finger down her cheek, sending a torrent of pleasure streaming through her veins.

Was he going to kiss her?

His gaze dropped to her mouth. Her heart nearly leaped from her chest.

And for a wild moment she wondered if she should push him away—or pull him close.

AUTHOR Bio and Links

A former RITA® and Daphne finalist, Gail Barrett has received the Book Buyer’s Best Award, the Holt Medallion, the Booksellers Best, The National Readers’ Choice Award, and numerous other awards.  She lives with her husband in Western Maryland.  Readers can contact her through her website: www.gailbarrett.com.

Purchase Links:

Barnes and Noble paperback and Nook:

Monday, June 3, 2013

HIDDEN by M. Lathan (Book Tour & $50 GC Giveaway)

Fans of YA Fantasy, I have a book recommendation for you: Hidden by M. Lathan. Read on to find out whether it interests you. And don’t forget to leave a comment for a chance to win the giveaway. One randomly chosen commenter will win a $50 Amazon/BN.com gift card. Remember that the more you follow the tour and comment, the higher your chances of winning. You’ll find the tour dates HERE.


Sixteen-year-old Leah Grant has given up on being normal. She’d settle for stopping the voices in her head, intrusive visions of the future, and better odds of making it to her seventeenth birthday.

That’s the thing about pretending to be human in a world where magic used to exist – at any moment, her cover could be blown and she’ll be burned to death like the rest of the witches.

Everything changes when she loses control of her powers and flees the orphanage she grew up in. She desperately wants to be invisible but finds her face plastered on every news channel as humans panic over the possible resurgence of her kind. And now the hunters won’t give up until they find her.
Making friends for the first time in her life and falling in love with one of them drives her to discover why she is unlike any being she’s ever met – human or otherwise. The dangerous powers inside of her that would repel Nathan, her new, handsome reason for living, are priceless to some. The locked up forever kind of priceless. And to others, they are too dangerous to allow her to live.

Let’s hope she can stay hidden.


A far second to oranges, the song I sang in the shower every night had a way of soothing me. More than anything, it made me tired enough to fall asleep. With Whitney gone, I didn’t have to whisper it.
The stars are out,
It’s time for bed.
Now close your eyes,
And rest your head.
May angels shield you with their wings,
As you dream your little angel dreams.
I didn’t recall composing that song, but apparently, I used to think I was good and perfect like the angels. I knew better now.
I stepped out of the shower and tugged a brush through my unruly brown tangles. I stared into the mirror over the sink as I started the song again. My skin screamed winter. I should be a warmer tan; I looked less creepy in the summer. Maybe that was why the girls had been digging into me so hard. I looked rather witchy. The unease that made them mock me was probably their souls warning them, urging them to notice I was different and dangerous.
At my worst, it feels like the fire that could easily shoot from my palm is raging inside of me. My heart picks up, more than when I’m scared. It pounds, I can’t hear. My blood dances, taunting me, begging me to hurt whoever’s hurt me. And I know that I can. I feel that I can.
But I don’t. I breathe and pray and let the magic cool.


M. Lathan lives in San Antonio with her husband and mini-schnauzer. She enjoys writing and has a B.S. in Psych and a Masters in Counseling. Her passion is a blend of her two interests – creating new worlds and stocking them with crazy people. She enjoys reading anything with interesting characters and writing in front of a window while asking rhetorical questions … like her idol Carrie Bradshaw.  

Website: mlathan.com
Twitter: @hiddenseries